loader
  |  

Built in 1929, the Deer Path Inn is a local landmark in the City of Lake Forest and is also listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The picturesque design of architect William C. Jones is characterized by a mix of stone, brick, stucco, half timbering, and copper and clay tile roofing, all evocative of 16th and 17th century English architecture. The Deer Path Inn has a long history of hospitality in Lake Forest. The recent rehabilitation has transformed the interior into a modern, five-star hotel, while preserving and restoring the original character of the exterior.


Professional Services

Klein & Hoffman was retained to perform the design and administration of the exterior façades, windows and roof restoration. After the investigation and preparation of construction documents, the work performed included restoration of original steel windows, stabilization and restoration of exterior brick and stone masonry, and repairs to existing stucco and wood trim. The original steel and leaded glass windows were removed, restored and reinstalled. Extensive replacement and restoration of clay tile roofing and copper flashing was performed. The complex geometries of the roof required creative solutions to atypical roofing and flashing conditions encountered throughout the construction process.

255 East Illinois Road
Lake Forest, IL 60045

Commercial
Facade Repair
Curtainwall / Windows
Roofing Systems
Historic Preservation
Low Rise

05/2015 - 12/2015

Allysia Youngquist, Senior Associate II
Christopher Enck, Associate IV
David Weirick, Associate II